Best Study Tips: Tried and Tested!

I know, a school related post? We haven’t seen one of them since my Back To School Wishlist back in September! Now I know that most schools do GCSE’s in May/June and there are lots of final assessments around so I thought this would be the perfect time for a roundup of study tips! There are probably some you’ve seen before, and some you haven’t, but they’re actually tried and tested by yours truly so you know I’m not just making up some rubbish. Enjoy!

Lots of Love Lottie Blog Study Tips Notebooks

1. Write up a schedule This is sooooo vital for me. If I don’t know how many topics or subjects and how long they’re going to take to revise, I will leave it 2 days before exams and it doesn’t end well. Ever! You can find some really cute schedules on Pinterest, I found this especially cute printer-friendly one from the lovely Landee at landeeseelandeedo.com, I use it for blog scheduling. Find it here.

2. Google example questions This is great but remember to ask your teacher if you’re doing current papers or old ones, don’t want to find you’re doing the test all over again! And unless you know you can Google the answers to the questions, make sure they come with an answer sheet so you can mark yourself. This is great so that you can familiarise yourself with what you need to go over again.

Lots of Love Lottie Blog Study Tips Study Space

3. Find your own study space I find it really hard to study with people talking and loud music playing around me. So I love to move myself up to my bedroom and either throw a load of cushions on the floor or keep my desk cute and tidy to encourage and inspire me (how deep). But studying in silence is not fun so using a website like A Soft Murmur which provides soft background music is great. I love mixing the waves and coffee house options together!

4. Repeat the information When you’re reading through something and it feels like it just doesn’t make sense, just say it out loud. Somehow our brain (or at least mine does) feels like that if we say it out loud, it’s true and there’s sense in that stupid Chemistry question. If you really want to you could record it on your phone then listen to it whenever you want.

Lots of Love Lottie Blog Study Tips Notebooks

5. Put the facts in a way you understand For me it’s baking. So I had to learn how a fractional distillation column works the other day. To help me remember the different properties as you go down the column, I imagined it as a badly mixed cake! So the butter is light in colour and runny when melted so that goes to the top. And that dark and thick sugar stays at the bottom (obviously there is no butter and sugar in a column but do you see what I mean?) I also like to draw it out to help me!

6. Find out what type of learner you are There are hundreds of online tests you can do to see what type of learner you are. As I’ve got older I’ve become more of a visual learner but I used to be almost equal in everything! Once you find out your learner, read more study tips for your type of learner. This will mean that they’re most likely going to help you! You can probably see that some of my tips are leaning towards the visual side.

Lots of Love Lottie Blog Learner Results

I hope those tips helped you guys! I really enjoyed writing it actually, made me remember how on Earth I got a B in a Physics test!

What are your favourite tips? Please share them down below!

Lots of Love,

Lottie ♥

 Twitter – Instagram – lotsoflovelottie Facebook Bloglovin – Spotify

4 thoughts on “Best Study Tips: Tried and Tested!

Leave a Reply

