5 Things to Know When Going to China

The Forbidden City 5

Hey! So, as you will probably know, I went to China at the beginning of April (a whole post on it here). It was freakin’ fantastic, and I’d definitely recommend visiting this incredible country. But it is so so so different to England.  Like, seriously different. So I thought I would tell you some things that probably I wish I’d known before staying in Beijing for 8 days. Just to make your experience a little more enjoyable than shocking/surprisable. Enjoy! Btw, if you enjoy travel posts I’d really like to know as I love writing them!

1. There is NEVER a set price China is where haggling is going down. It’s like real life Ebay! I stuck with the rule of 25% of asking price and most of the time I got that or just above. Plus do not be scared to walk away if they don’t give you the price you want. You can always find it cheaper another place!

2. They will take a lot of pictures The Chinese have this thing for white, well dressed, blonde foreign students. Maybe they don’t get many tourists? Who knows. But they will take plenty of photos of you, especially if you do a group photo or whatever. It does get slightly annoying, so what my friends and I did was just turn away and most of them got the idea.

Blossoms

3. It is NOT big Chinese takeaway! They do not serve prawn crackers with every meal, I’ll disappoint you now. Sometimes you see aspects of an English takeaway in your food but a lot of the time it is totally different. For example there is a sweet crispy chicken which you could say was slightly like sweet and sour, but not really. But that’s the whole point of going to the other side of the world, to experience something new!

4. The Chinese aren’t very polite Ok that is a really bad generalisation. Maybe Brits are just really polite but our group found that people pushed quite a lot and we saw one man actually push through a couple who were holding hands. Also, don’t be surprised if deformed men come up to you in the street asking for money. It is quite disturbing but it won’t last long, just keep moving and take no notice. I know that’s harsh but you can’t always give them money.

5. You will have the experience of a lifetime I know I have probably made China sound like a horrendous country and you should never go, I did not mean to do that! I jut wanted to give you some information that might be helpful. China is an absolutely incredible country which is growing and growing in tourism. This means it’s easier for us when we go! There are some truly beautiful places to visit like the temples, Great Wall, Terracotta Army, dumpling banquets and shows and so much more. I am so so so grateful to of had the chance to go to a fantastic experience. I did get a little homesick, (kinda missed my chicken pasta bake for dinner) but that made it even more exciting.

Great Wall of China

If you EVER get the chance to go on a trip to this incredible country, or any country in fact, take it. And really really enjoy it! It may be scary, but when you get to tell your little sister that you got to see real life Giant Pandas, and see her face light up, it is sooooo worth it, telling all these incredible stories (who can count how many times I’ve said incredible in this post?!)

So. What do you think? I don’t often do advice posts, but I do like to switch it up every now and then! Also, I want to know what posts YOU want to see! Let me know in the comments, through my twitter or instagram or maybe we should create a hashtag? That would be so cool! How about…#LottieRequests . Yeah, I like it! I’d love if you took part!

Lots of Love,

Lottie ♥

 Twitter – Instagram – lotsoflovelottie Facebook Bloglovin – Spotify

One thought on “5 Things to Know When Going to China

Leave a Reply

