5 Free Blogging Resources

Lots of Love Lottie Blogging Resources

Hello everyone! So today I thought I’d do a bit of a blogging tips post. I was a bit unsure about doing this type of post as I am in no way a professional blogger at all. But if you’re just starting out then I thought I would help you with a few of my favourite free blogging resources. Enjoy!

Dana from The Wonder Forest

1. The Wonder Forest

Dana is the QUEEN of blogging tips and cheat sheets. Her advice is very useful and she also offers blog makeovers and blog templates. I found her through Zoella’s blog design. Dana explains everything in a way you understand but you still receive the right amount of information.

Wordpress

2. WordPress.com

This is where I host my blog. I was told that this is the best for beginner bloggers, and you can transfer over to .org when you’re ready. I love the security I have on here, I know there aren’t going to be any dodgy comments and hacking. I’m thinking of buy the whole domain name (without the .wordpress.com bit) but for £17 I don’t know if I can justify it. I bought my domain from GoDaddy (or something like that) but didn’t know you had to buy it on the actual WordPress website. You are a bit stuck with your creativity of themes and plugins but it’s great for beginners.

Hootsuite

3. Hootsuite

This is how I get all my tweets out to promote my new posts. It’s really easy, you just space them throughout the week. A tip is to use the blogging RT’ers (?!) so more people see your posts. For example I could tweet: ‘NEW Post…. @UKBlog_RT’ and UKBlog_RT would retweet to their followers. It’s a really good system!

bitly

4. bit.ly

I used to use bit.ly ALL THE TIME until I found out I could shorten the link in WordPress. You basically insert your link and it shortens it, meaning, for example, you wanted to tweet about your new blog post but the link takes up so much space you can’t tweet the actual title of the post! This is very useful for Blogger users as well as I don’t believe you can shorten links on that platform.

Twitter

5. Twitter

Twitter is my main source of views, I’m not even going to deny it. It’s such a great way to promote your blog, you’ve just to schedule at the right time of day! On the day of publishing I usually tweet 3/4/5 times the a couple times each day for the next week. Then I’ll promote it a week later, then a month so if people missed it then they can find my post. There are loads of tips posts around on what time to schedule, so check those out as well.

And that’s it folks! Hope you found this post useful, and let me know if you’d like to see more posts like this.

What are your favourite blogging resources? Or are you thinking of starting a blog?

Lots of Love,

Lottie ♥

Twitter – Instagram – lotsoflovelottie Facebook Bloglovin – Spotify

4 thoughts on “5 Free Blogging Resources

  1. Jessi | Full of Living says:

    I originally wasn’t sure about buying my domain name either (tip – it’s cheaper if you don’t do it via WordPress, but then you need to arrange hosting etc yourself which can be stressful) but that initial fee sets you up for a year or two. And if you enjoy blogging, just think of it as another hobby – how much do you usually spend per month, let alone per year, on stuff you love? Well worth it I think 🙂

    x Jessi

    http://www.fullofliving.com | @fullofliving

    Like

Leave a Reply

