Healthy Eating As A Teen

I need to have a little rant. There aren’t many things I rant about, but this topic, I really felt I needed to.

We are told everyday what our life should be like. Whether it be something silly like how our throw cushions should be arranged to something serious like how slim we should be. This generation has a hard time trying to keep up with it all.

Sometimes it’s useful ‘advice’ – like try keeping a water bottle with you at all times, or do an Internet detox. That’s good. I like that advice. But sometimes I read stuff and it makes me SCREAM inside. Like you should be a max of 100 pounds to get a boyfriend. And not eating breakfast/lunch/dinner will make you ‘skinny’ and ‘beautiful’. No, just no.

It’s advice like this that affects teenagers A LOT. Teens are struggling anyway with working out what their future will hold. But whack some more pictures of Photoshopped beach blonde babe models and it doesn’t help, honey, it does not. That’s when eating disorders come into the equation.

Lots of Love Lottie Blog Healthy Eating 1

And it’s because so many teens are getting eating disorders, the minute another teen says “I’ll have the salad” parents, neighbours, friends, family start yelling “Nuh uh, what’s up with you? You don’t need to diet!”. Which is so annoying. Because sometimes all that teen is trying to do it nourish their body, grow stronger physically and mentally and you know what? Try some new food!

I am a pretty healthy girl. I love kale. And hot lemon water. And two ingredient banana pancakes (they taste like Heaven, try them out). And most people know that. But yet whenever I say, “Can I have some more salad/do you mind if we don’t have pizza?” I still FEEL the stares. Now I know these people are just caring and worried but because of this awful ‘advice’ trend going around at the moment people need to be concerned if ya girl just wants a smoothie!

This really annoys me. Because they’re are some very smart teens out there who know what they’re doing. They are HELPING THEMSELVES. And it’s freakin’ awesome. I love it. I love how some of my friends now say they love fruit. They know what Vitamin A is. They know that wholemeal is better.

Lots of Love Lottie Blog Healthy Eating 2

I am very appreciative of what I have, and how lucky I am. But sometimes I wish that there were more of us ‘middle group’ people. And by this I mean we’re not at either end of the spectrum. We’re not starving ourselves, neither are we eating Burger King for dinner errrrrry day.

I feel like I’ve waffled on a bit today. But there were all these thoughts just rattling around in my brain and writing it out seemed like the best option!

I’d love to know YOUR opinion on healthy eating as a teen. Tweet me, email me, or comment!

Lots of Love,

Lottie ♥

Bloglovin Twitter Instagram Pinterest 

2 thoughts on “Healthy Eating As A Teen

Leave a Reply

