Nature Photography Tips for Complete Beginners

Even though I’ve been writing this blog for over a year and a half, I’m still an absolute novice with my camera. I’m going to be absolutely honest, I rarely take it off auto. Yeah, I know. Shock horror. Am I a bad excuse of a blogger? Maybe. But hey, sometimes I do actually get some good shots on auto. And I’m going to show you how! I especially love nature photography but if you guys enjoy it, maybe I can turn it into a little series, including fashion and products? Oooh let me know! First, here are some examples of my work (oooh how faaancy)

LambsFlowersSheepSeaCrow

Quite proud of them, not going to lie! Anyway, we begin…

  1. Zoooooom

Don’t ask me why, don’t ask me how but zoom gets me these awesome blurred backgrounds! I mean LOOK at the second sheep! It also makes the focused item of the photos appear quite crisp and sharp, which is never a bad thing, I think! So, have a little play with the zoom on your camera! Although personally I wouldn’t recommend it on phones as it loses its quality very quickly!

2. Use the angle

You see the one of the sea ( 😉 ) I took? I used the grass to really deepen the photo (I sound like I know what I’m saying but I really don’t). It also normally adds some more colour and texture to ya girl’s photos, and that’s good too. It also means you don’t have to stand on tip toes to avoid anything in the foreground!

3. Keep it natural

I love the composition of the lambs in the first picture, it’s very natural, as if they don’t know that someone if photographing them. Personally, this is my nature style of choice because it show the raw beauty of these cute little fluffy t’ings. See what interesting compositions you can get!

4. Snappin’ til you drop

Take multiple photos, even if the one on the tiny camera screen looks in focus, you want to be able to have options! The amount of times I’ve only taken one photo and it would have looked SO good if it was in focus haha!

So that’s my nature photography tips! Let me know what your favourite type of photography is, and whether you enjoyed these tips or not!

Lots of Love,

Lottie ♥

Bloglovin Twitter Instagram Pinterest 

 

 

Leave a Reply

